Organization data sharing allows you to share player information with other organizations on BattleMetrics.
Start by navigating to the Orgs page and selecting your organization.
At the upper right you will see a button called "Data Sharing".
You can begin to share by finding an organization and offering to share information with them. The target organization can choose to accept or decline your offer. If they choose to accept your offer they will be prompted to send the same ("reciprocal") sharing terms back to you.
We do not require a two-way agreement, but we will flag one-way agreements. We do this by prompting the recipient to send the same sharing terms back to you when they view the one-way agreement.
This is disabled by default. Enabling discovery makes your organization name, number of unique players in the past 90 days, number of identifiers, and servers in your organization visible to other organizations. This information will be listed next to your organization name during the discovery/browsing process.
You can enable or disable discovery at any time under Data Sharing on the organization edit page.
If you are receiving too many data sharing offers you can restrict who can send offers to you by organization rank. The organization's rank is determined by their top ranking server in any game that you also host.
It is possible to share data with another organization without enabling discovery, but they will not be able to share data back with you.
What is Shared
Sharing data with an organization grants them permission to see player sessions associated with your organization and the ability to search otherwise private player profiles.
If identifier sharing is enabled, all identifiers are shared. You can choose to restrict the ability to view the actual identifier, just like you can with roles. A restricted identifier will appear as a randomized string. Restricted identifiers can still be banned and searched normally. For example, if the person already knows the IP, it doesn't make sense to stop the search results from matching the restricted identifier.
Sharing notes is optional and will only share notes that are marked as sharable. When note sharing is enabled, organization member nicknames are also shared to show who authored a note.
You can choose to share player flags. The flags will be visible for the organization's members, but will be read only. The shared flags can not be changed, added, or removed from players.
Restrictions on Shared Data
In games that have private player lists sharing data will not allow other organizations to see your active player list.
The online status of private player profiles is hidden from organizations that you share data with. It is possible to see that a player was online, but not that they are currently online.
Identifier types that are permission restricted (e.g. IPs) in the receiving organization will still be masked even if they are shared.
Where Shared Data is Used
Shared player data is available when searching and viewing player profiles. Identifiers, sessions, and flags all have an indicator to show that they are being shared by another organization.
IPs shared by other organizations are also incorporated into the IP match warning on player lists.
Players that have shared flags assigned will be shown on the player list, but only after standard first party flags.